Mlog 2 – Hackers’ Night Out   Leave a comment

The second entry in the not-very-long-running series has arrived. This one is quite different, I think, from the last one.

This one was forged in Reason 7. Whenever I talk to people about Reason, they seem to tend to see it as a ‘fun toy’ or ‘good for getting ideas down’ or ‘a great synth rack.’ While it still needs quite a bit of audio editing features to be worthy of standing with the great DAWs of Logic Pro and even Reaper, it’s become rather capable as a composition, recording, and mixing tool. I’ve actually been using it almost exclusively to make the music for the game I’m working on right now, and for what I’m doing I haven’t run into any snags so far. Obviously it has some major limitations, but for certain styles it’s honestly perfect for me.

This track started as some experimentation with the Dr. OctoRex instrument, which seems to be primarily for hip-hop-tinged drum sampling/looping and the like, so I really haven’t made much use of it since I much prefer to compose my own drum beats. But I decided to take a sample from outside of Reason and stick it in there and compose some beats from the automatically transient-chopped loop taken from the intro of “Leyendecker” by Battles.

From there I basically went nuts. Some 3:2, some automation improv freakout, sidechaining and parallel processing, modulating chords… all sorts of fun. Considering the separate “scenes” depicted, it’s a little more difficult to imagine this working in a game setting, but I think the title depicts some of the general mood it conveys. Hope you enjoy it!

*(As a possibly interesting sidenote, I recently decided to give a trial of Ableton Suite a shot again… and for some reason I just cannot get into. I really want to like it, and I love some of the little things about it. But for some reason making music on it is just extremely difficult for me. I was actually planning on composing Mlog #3 in it, but I just hit a compositional wall. So it’s back to Logic Pro for next week, I think!)

Posted 16 September 2013 by jonbash in Mlog, Music

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

